The School’s Curriculum

Early Years

On entry to early years, the children experience the early years foundation stage curriculum which can be viewed at

The curriculum is divided into two:

Prime areas

  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Communication and language
  • Physical  development

Specific areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the world
  • Expressive arts and design

At Woodlands, these are taught through the Learning Challenge Curriculum

Key Stage 1 and 2

On entry to year 1, and through to year 6, children follow the National Curriculum.

Full information about the national curriculum is available at

At Woodlands, we use a cross curricular approach to learning. Our Learning Challenge Curriculum develops children’s  involvement in their work so that it is more meaningful and promotes enjoyment. Our themes (see classes page) are based on learning challenges -all expressed as questions. The questions then stimulate learning and children are involved in a range of experiences and enquiry based activities to find the answers.

We place a strong emphasis on the key skills of communication (oracy, reading and writing), numeracy, ICT and problem solving. Non negotiables for each year group ensure a focus on key knowledge and skills for English and Maths and we embed opportunities to practise these skills within our learning challenge themes.

An important aspect of our curriculum develops children’s understanding about the way they learn.  We teach them about the dispositions for learning.  These develop children’s skills so that, for example, they can better manage distractions, work together, develop their thinking and understand how they can improve their own learning.

As a school we teach synthetic phonics using the Read, Write Inc. scheme and use the Oxford Reading Tree/Project X reading scheme.

Please use the link below to access a guide for parents about the National Curriculum.

Parents Guide to the National Curriculum